Uncategorized

Chocolate Butterscotch Grain-Free Cake

Grain-Free Chocolate Butterscotch Cake

This is a chocolate lover’s dream! The butterscotch filling can be replaced with the same mix as the frosting, if you want to make it even more “chocolaty”, but I liked the contrast of the salted caramel-type filling with the chocolate.
The filling can also be eaten alone as a pudding. I actually made a double batch of it, cooled the remaining pudding into ramekins and ate it with a spoon just as is.

I made this Chocolate Butterscotch Grain-Free Cake my mother’s birthday back in March and it’s been in my queue of recipes to post, along with at least 100 other recipes, but I just haven’t found the motivation to blog lately.

Many have asked my why I haven’t posted any recipes in months. The truth is that ever since Facebook changed its algorithms to try to collect money from bloggers and business pages, I feel like I basically just talk to myself. Out of my almost 50,000 Facebook followers, only between 500 to 1000 people actually see my post. Usually the ones who interact with my page the most.

If I wanted all of my Facebook friends to see my post I would have to pay between $400 and $600 per post! Not per month, or per day, but per POST! As a blogger who doesn’t really have any revenue-generating product or service to advertise, it wouldn’t make any sense for me to pay that amount of money to share FREE recipes.
If you want to continue to see my recipes, just subscribe to this blog directly by simply adding your e-mail address to the subscribe box. I don’t spam or send too many emails. I don’t share articles or newsletters. I simply share 1 or 2 recipes per month. Thanks!

For the cake

Ingredients:

3 cups of almond flour
1/2 cup of coconut flour
5 medium eggs
1/3 cup of butter, palm shortening, or coconut oil
1 cup of coconut sugar
2 tsp of aluminum-free baking soda
2 tsp of vanilla extract
1 cup of full fat coconut milk
1/2 to 3/4 cups of unsweetened cocoa powder or raw cacao powder
1/2 cup of maple syrup
1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips. I use these

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Using an electric mixer, immersion blender of food processor, combine all the ingredients together except for the chocolate chips. If mixing the ingredients by hand, melt the butter first and make sure that all ingredients are at room temperature.
  • Mix in the chocolate chips using a large spoon or spatula
  • Divide the batter into two greased 8-inch molds.
  • Bake for 20 to 25 mins or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.
  • Allow the cake to cool down at room temperature or inside the refrigerator.

For The Butterscotch Filling (optional)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup of coconut sugar
3 tbsp of arrowroot powder
1/4 to 1/2 tsp of sea salt
1 14-ounce can of full fat coconut milk
3 egg yolks
3 tbsp of butter

Preparation:

  • Whisk all ingredients together except the butter in a small saucepan.
  • Turn heat to medium low and stir constantly until a the mix thickens.
  • Remove from heat.
  • Stir in the butter.
  • Allow the pudding to cool down in the refrigerator.

For The Frosting

Ingredients:

1 cup of non hydrogenated palm shortening. I use this one
2 to 4 tablespoons of raw cacao powder  (to taste). You can also use unsweetened cocoa powder
Raw honey to taste

Preparation:

  • Using a spatula, electric mixer, or immersion blender mix all the ingredients together until well combined.
  • If the frosting is too runny, place it in the refrigerator for a few minutes and quickly mix again.

 

For The Ganache

Ingredients:

3 ounces of unsweetened soy-free chocolate or raw cacao paste (if using sweetened chocolate or chocolate chips reduce the amount of honey)
2 tablespoons of butter or coconut oil
2 tablespoons of honey

Preparation:

  • Gently melt and combine all the ingredients together. I use a double boiler for this step.
  • Allow the ganache to cool down slightly. You want the ganache to have the texture of a very thick gravy.

To assemble the cake:

  • Place one of the cakes on a plate.
  • Pour the cold pudding over it. Or make a double batch of the frosting and use that instead
  • Place the other cake on top and press down gently.
  • Frost the cake.
  • Pour the ganache over the cake.
  • Refrigerate the cake.
  • Place the cake at room temperature 30 to 45 minutes before serving

Leave a comment