Chicken · Entree

Rosemary Baked Chicken

//
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js

I call this recipe “My Plan B”.

It happens all the time… We invite friends over for dinner, I plan a somewhat elaborate meal; the night before, I go grocery shopping and mentally plan my day, everything seems to be ready, but the next day my daughters have a different plan, Lilah, my 3 yr old, decides to skip her nap and keep her sister awake, water the plants all by herself, draw on my wall and “reorganize” my kitchen cabinets.
By 5 o’clock, my husband is not home from work yet and it  is clear to me that it was the wrong day to make  prime rib, so I fill the sink with warm water and throw in some frozen chicken to thaw while I make myself “presentable”. Then I just set the chicken in a baking tray, quickly slice some unpeeled sweet potatoes and carrots, sprinkle some oil and spices and put everything in the oven. This whole dish preparation took less that 5 minutes and while it bakes I quickly assemble a salad and sit in my front porch with a parenting book and pretend to have a handle on everything.

 

Ingredients:

 

6 chicken drumsticks *
2 medium carrots, sliced
1 medium sweet potato or yam, cut into 1 inch squares
1 tbsp of paprika
1 tbsp of ground dry rosemary leaves**
1/2 tbsp of pepper
1/2 tbsp of garlic powder
3 pressed garlic cloves
2 tbsp of olive oil
Salt to taste

 

Preparation:

 

  • Preheat oven to 380 F
  • Combine all ingredients until the spices are uniformly spread and place into an 8 x 11 baking pan.
  • Bake for about an hour or until chicken is cooked and carrots are tender.
  • Optional step: Broil chicken until skin is crispy

 

*boneless chicken breast would work as well, but I like fat
**If you can’t find ground rosemary, then run the through a coffee grinder or blender until powdery

2 thoughts on “Rosemary Baked Chicken

  1. I adored the flavours of the spices and the freshness of the rosemary. The chicken was tender and juicy, I used both drumsticks and a breast, and served it over a bed of quinoa.

    Like

Leave a comment